Community heroes named finalists in Transgrid Leadership Award

20 October 2022

Four local heroes have been named as finalists for the 2022 Transgrid Leadership Award which acknowledges role models who have made their local communities a better place to live, work and play.

The Transgrid Leadership Award is part of the 2022 Community Achievement Awards for Regional NSW and the ACT which encourage, acknowledge and reward the valuable contributions of individuals, communities and businesses.

The finalists for the 2022 Transgrid Leadership Award are:

  • Jemma Coulter, an accredited exercise physiologist from Alstonville, who opened her business during the 2022 Lismore floods to accommodate anyone needing a place to stay, and gathered clothing, blankets, mattresses and food for the local community.
  • Louise Azzopardi, an empowerment coach from Bligh Park (Western Sydney), who uses her experiences as a qualified heavy vehicle mechanic to help other tradeswomen overcome obstacles and rise to the next step in their careers.
  • Rhiannan Barr, a Trans4m Rail community liaison officer from Moree, for her work in acknowledging Reconciliation Week. The former Salvation Army Family Store manager and current scout leader is also recognised for increasing volunteers and supporting local youth.
  • Vickie Burkinshaw, a professional facilitator, author and business coach from Wagga Wagga, for her contribution as President of the Friends of the Art Gallery and Women’s Health Centre as well as encouraging and supporting local artists and small business.

Transgrid CEO Brett Redman said the company was proud to recognise the success and achievements of four extraordinary people whose contributions have made their local communities a better place.

“These amazing individuals have shown tenacity, dedication, selflessness and leadership to become a driving force in their local communities and chosen fields,” Mr Redman said.

“I congratulate them on being named finalists and sincerely thank them for their remarkable achievements and contributions.”
Winners will be announced at a Gala Presentation Dinner in the Blue Mountains on November 25.

Transgrid media contact:
Mark Nolan 0429 047 136